fiftyshadesbooks

Hello GREYsessed readers! It has been an exciting time for all of us Fifty Shades fans! I hope all of you got to listen to the “Fifty Shades of Grey-1 Year Later” radio show with Seattle Wave Radio and hosted by the amazing Lori Ness. Didn’t hear it? Because if you missed it-no worries, I will have the link here on the blog. It was truly a highlight of my little blogging career! As I said on the radio show, I never in a million years would have guessed that I would be part of an amazing team of women as passionate as me. Team Fifty is what we call ourselves and I am proud to be part of it.

Best part of the show though? E L JAMES!!!!  Yes, in shouty capitals! She was a total surprise guest and surprised I was! Picture this: I happened to be in Chicago visiting my good friend Kim. I am in her guest room setting myself up for the interview. I never downloaded the app for the radio station and of course I was having technical difficulties. Anyone that knows me knows that technology is allergic to me. So I am slated to be Lori’s first guest and it is go time. I can’t get the radio show to play as I am watching the tweets go down my timeline commenting on the first guest speaker. First speaker? I am supposed to be the first speaker! Sweat is starting to form. Darn Ipad is being an arse. I see someone has tweeted me back. “Its Erika.” Who the heck is Erika? Dana Brunetti tweets me. “Who is on now?” I tweet him, “Erika.” The radio station finally starts working. I hear a British accent. Ding. Light bulb goes on. HOLY SHITBALLS! IT’S ERIKA. As in THE Erika!

BNfuCP5CUAAr1WN

Okay-for those of you who don’t personally know me, I am a crier. A big crier. Huge. And in this moment the perfect storm had just formulated for huge tears. For starters, I was already overwhelmed from the technical disaster that is me. And hearing EL’s voice just made the tears start to roll. Not only because obviously I adore her, but I was truly happy for Lori. This was a huge deal for her and I just love when good things happy to great people. So yes, I was a darn mess and had to call into the show in minutes. You’ll have to listen to the show to hear how the rest went down but that gives you a visual of what the five minutes were like for me before I called in. I will say it was a surreal moment. I was truly humbled and have never felt so blessed. And in case you were wondering- yes, I cried after I hung up the phone too. Yes, a hot mess. But please listen if you haven’t yet. This is a unique and wonderful group of women who dedicate their time to keeping the Fifty Shades fandom going in a positive way.

So please listen to the radio show! It’s three hours of pure entertainment and puts a voice to all the names we follow on Twitter and Facebook! http://t.co/xw8UIGEMVz

imagesCA58EETG

And now I am uber excited to bring you another interview with two of my favorite authors-Christina Lauren, the dynamic duo who just released the novella, Beautiful Bitch. I recently posted a review of the book and now I happy to share with you my recent chat with these lovely ladies. But before I do, there’s more good news!

bitch

ENTER TO WIN A SIGNED COPY OF BEAUTIFUL BITCH! LEAVE A COMMENT FOR EITHER ME OR CHRISTINA LAUREN AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS BLOG AND THAT WILL ENTER YOU INTO THE GIVEAWAY! PLUS-IF YOU FOLLOW THEM ON PINTEREST, THAT ALSO ENTERS YOU INTO THE SIGNED BOOK GIVEAWAY. GO TO PINTEREST.COM AND SEARCH “BEAUTIFUL BASTARD OFFICIAL PAGE” AND HIT THE FOLLOW BUTTON TO REGISTER TO WIN. THAT IS TWO CHANCES TO WIN!! ENJOY THE INTERVIEW AND CHECK OUT THE PINTEREST PAGES. IT’S LIKE RELIVING THE BOOKS ALL OVER AGAIN!

 LOVE & LATERS©,  MICHELE

17831616

Beautiful Bitch picks up where Bastard left off. Was it hard to get back into character since Stranger?

Actually . . . yes. There were a couple of things that were hard about it – one was the deadline, and the other was knowing that we had to get back in such different mindsets than Max/Sara. The other thing that was hard about BITCH (other than Bennett *rimshot*) was that we had to find a balance between writing their familiar snark and writing a healthy relationship. You really don’t want a couple who is presumably in love to constantly be saying ‘fuck you’ to each other, but you also don’t want to see them pulling a total 180 either and reading love sonnets. We think we hit the balance pretty well, but they’re at a point where they miss each other a little. So if fans miss snarky Bennett and sassy Chloe, they’ll really love BOMBSHELL and BEGINNING because those two personalities are back with a roar.

BPVbEfVCAAAoLki

The story takes us to the picturesque city of Marseille. You paint a beautiful picture of it. Any personal reason for this location? I know you’ve been to Paris but were you able to visit Marseille as well?

Neither of us has been to the south of France but we have such a mental image and we figure the more we write about France, the more likely it is someday we’ll end up there together in a villa with manservants and . . . what was the question again?

BPLshjbCYAEY8--

The story flashes back in time, which added incredible dimension and gave the reader such an in-depth look at their relationship. Was it hard to go backwards with the story or did it just flow naturally?

So, one thing we’ve mentioned about BITCH is that we didn’t initially plan to write it. We thought we ended BASTARD exactly how and where we wanted to. But as we talked about it more between us and also with Adam (our editor), we realized not only did readers want more Chloe and Bennett, but there was a lot more material there to have fun with. And that’s what this series is for all of us in some ways – fun.

But the flashbacks were actually something we went back and forth about a lot. On the one hand, we didn’t want it to start in the boardroom at the end of BASTARD, but if we didn’t have any flashbacks, the readers would want to know what happened in that whole year. On the other hand, it was hard to figure out how to make it happen seamlessly, and in a novella that’s even trickier. So I would say it was something we struggled with a little, but we ended up feeling great about where it landed.

BPPcWxYCQAADGWs

I have spent a lot of time with Bennett and Chloe. Not as much as you obviously. So my question is, do you ever find yourselves in real life seeing or hearing something and thinking “That’s so Bennett.” or “Chloe would totally say that!” just because those characters are so part of you?

Definitely we say things to each other that make us think, “Wow, that is so Chloe/Bennett.” And then we have to put it in a book. We have a notebook full of things we’ve said that will eventually make it into one of the novellas, just you wait . . .

The cover of Beautiful Bombshell is gorgeous. Any hints or spoilers?

WE LOVE BOMBSHELL! I mean, we love this novella. BITCH is fun and a return to Chloe and Bennett, but it was a little hard for us to get back in their heads.  But BOMBSHELL, which is in alternating Max and Bennett point of view, was the most fun for us to write. They just cracked us up. And for spoilers, we can say that Will is a lot of fun in this one, and you get to see a side of the guys’ relationship that we think you’ll enjoy. But don’t worry; there is plenty of steam in this one to feel like a Christina Lauren book.

bombshell

The screenwriter has been chosen for the movie production of Beautiful Bastard. First: GAH!!!!!! And second: when do you suspect filming will start? Your token Asian needs to clear her calendar 😉

Hell yeah she does!! And YES! Stephanie Sanditz is the screenwriter and we LOVE her. Christina flew out to California in early June and we drove up to LA to have lunch with her and Bianca from Constantin Film. The four of us hit it off wonderfully and we can tell you, Stephanie really gets these characters and the fun, sexiness, and personal stakes involved in BASTARD. So, once the script is finalized and accepted, Jeremy Bolt (Producer) will find a director to come on board. After that, they’ll cast the film. WE ARE SO EXCITED!

Thank you for having us sweetie, we just adore you!!

Thank you Christina and Lauren! I flipping adore both of you and blessed to know you. Your fans are super excited for the giveaway and for Beautiful Bombshell! Much love to both of you and continued success ! And thank you to Simon & Schuster for their support! They are a wonderful publishing company! xoxo, Michele

Twitter- @seeCwrite @loloshoes

Website- www.christinalaurenbooks.com

